Ohio Game Fishing



Go Back  Ohio Game Fishing Community > General Discussions > Electronics >

Chip confusion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 11:43 AM   #1
LmitingOut
Amazing
 
LmitingOut's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Royalton
Posts: 324
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default Chip confusion

I have been borrowing my buddies preminum navionics chip and his showed all the lighthouse, bouys and reefs. I bought a platinum chip east and it don't show anything at all. Why would it do that ?

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine
__________________
Always
LmitingOut is offline   Reply With Quote

Register today to remove this advertisement IT'S FREE



Old 03-09-2012, 12:03 PM   #2
Flippin 416
Senior Member
 
Flippin 416's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, Ohio
Posts: 1,065
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

What kind of fishfinder?
Flippin 416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:44 PM   #3
LmitingOut
Amazing
 
LmitingOut's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Royalton
Posts: 324
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Its a hds, wonder maybe if I see if there is any updates for that could be the problem last update was from last year

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine
__________________
Always
LmitingOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:56 PM   #4
Flippin 416
Senior Member
 
Flippin 416's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, Ohio
Posts: 1,065
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

First thing I would do is make 100% sure the content on the cards is the same or "should" be showing what you think you should be seeing. I am not very familiar with the Lowrance units but I know from my exp with Humminbird that you need to make sure the unit is using the mapping card VS what might be built into it from the factory. Updates never hurt....I am always a fan of staying current with updates and new technology. Good luck hope you get it figured out!!
Flippin 416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:37 PM   #5
K gonefishin
Eye Slayer
 
K gonefishin's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Columbia Station
Posts: 6,885
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via MSN to K gonefishin
Default

416 is right you have to tell your HDS unit to read the chip otherwise it will just pull the basemap.
__________________
Walleye Ninja
K gonefishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:47 PM   #6
Net
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: 3 miles N of Alum
Posts: 4,354
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Not sure if it's just for the Insight base maps, but there's a sub menu where you tell the unit which POI's to display or to keep hidden. Look under navigation.
Net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 02:42 PM   #7
LmitingOut
Amazing
 
LmitingOut's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Royalton
Posts: 324
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K gonefishin View Post
416 is right you have to tell your HDS unit to read the chip otherwise it will just pull the basemap.
It is on navionics and not on lowrance, that was the first thing i checked. I called navionics and they said to update the hds cause they think its not showing because I haven't since last year and my chip is brand new

Will download tonight and try it tomorrow

Is there been a update since last summer?

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine
__________________
Always
LmitingOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 02:53 PM   #8
Net
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: 3 miles N of Alum
Posts: 4,354
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LmitingOut View Post
Is there been a update since last summer?
Feb 9 is the latest update for the GEN1 hds units.
http://www.lowrance.com/en/Downloads...tware-Updates/
Net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:29 PM   #9
chopper
Senior Member
 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Baltimore, Ohio
Posts: 611
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default also not happy

I have been on here for the last month trying to figure out which chip to buy. I went to BP shop last week and talked to them. They said that if you fish mostly lakes that are not on the HD list that I should go with the premium and save the money. When I got home, I downloaded the PC app to view it on my PC. I was also told to update it and I did. I am so very upset with this chip. The lakes show nothing. They don't even show the ramps. If I go to an HD lake, they are great. All of the other lakes are a joke. It looks to me that the advertizing shows what they do on HD lakes and really don't tell you that all others are a joke. I am going to call navionics to see what they say. I'll let you know.
chopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:15 PM   #10
Net
Senior Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: 3 miles N of Alum
Posts: 4,354
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Chopper, I agree with you. I think navionics could've done a lot better job with their non high-def lake maps.

The biggest reason I switched to navionics maps was for the color palette, and I'm pleased so far. Maybe I'm color blind but I flat out could not see/distinguish the contour lines on the Insight base maps.
Net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 05:38 PM   #11
LmitingOut
Amazing
 
LmitingOut's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Royalton
Posts: 324
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Ok after I installed the new update from lowrance the platinum chip worked


Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine
__________________
Always
LmitingOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 PM.












Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2014, Game Fishing LLC