Ohio Game Fishing

Go Back  Ohio Game Fishing Community > Ohio Fishing Reports > Fishing Reports - Out of State >

Outer Banks Tuna fishing.. When is the best time of yr.

Old 02-15-2012, 09:34 AM   #1
sharon time

Default Outer Banks Tuna fishing.. When is the best time of yr.

Always wanted to do a tuna charter (bucket list) , but with the cost and 2 sons we just did the usual charter. Well my youngest just graduated from college and landed a job. He now wants to take ME fishing and foot the bill. Maybe I did something right. He wants me to find out best time of year. Any help out there?
sharon time is offline   Reply With Quote

Register today to remove this advertisement IT'S FREE

Old 02-15-2012, 10:39 AM   #2
walleyekiller

I am no expert but usually September - December is best at the outer banks. We go with phideaux charters and have a blast. He's a hell of a good captain. Last year we got 16 yellow and black fin and 2 sail fish. Defiantly would recommend them.1700 for day.
walleyekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 08:15 PM   #3
ohiotuber

A first hand recommendation as stated on the other reply is always good. If you need other info, try contacting Oregon Inlet http://www.oregon-inlet.com/
They certainly can help you. Highly recommended.
Mike
ohiotuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 07:17 PM   #4
capt S

walleyekiller, what time of year did you go?
Old 02-17-2012, 02:07 PM   #5
heidlers

I went out years ago and got plenty of yellowfin in late October. None were bigger than about 40lbs, most a little smaller. If you can brave the conditions, the big Bluefin make their annual run fairly close to shore sometime btwn Jan.-Mar., I think. I agree with the prior post- contact the guys down at Oregon Inlet. Good luck.
heidlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 06:11 AM   #6
Treeman